Go to content

Us

Aurelie Ablay & Luc Randolph

Who are we?

Aurélie Ablay
Luc Randolph

We are deeply committed to sustainability; commitments that shape our daily lives outside the studio. La Fabrique du Ciel Bleu is an extension of our commitments and skills, both scientific (Luc has a PhD in materials science) and human. 

We are part of those who question the boundaries between manufacturing and design, between industry and craftsmanship to see them as places of exchange and learning.

ethos

La Fabrique du Ciel Bleu

We -Aurélie and Luc- founded La Fabrique du Ciel Bleu in 2020 with the aim of exploring ways of producing (traditional and modern) to create in a world in full transformation. Our studio/workshop serves as a platform to explore combinations of techniques and materials that minimize environmental impact and enhance human work.

Above all, at a time when rationalizing the use of energy(s) is becoming essential and when the right choice of materials conditions our collective future, we want to propose concrete and thoughtful alternatives, mature and actionable ideas.

A design studio

The studio dimension of our activity focuses on eco-design, the use of natural or renewable materials and their combination in contemporary designs.

Eco-design is a complete vision of the life of a creation that requires us to rethink the manufacturing, the uses and especially to foresee the end of life (dismantlability, recycling, reuse). In order to reintroduce more low footprint materials, generally natural, our design must also consider the maintenance of these materials that "live", unlike conventional synthetics.

Our expertise is twofold: we can accompany other studios in eco-design, but also design installations that deploy natural materials and artisanal techniques.

A manufacturing workshop

The manufacturing is carried out in self-production in our workshop mainly equipped with hand tools. Over time, our designs come to life with the force of the plane and the chisel; textiles are knotted and woven on wooden frames; recycled plastic is cut, trimmed and assembled.

As our work progresses, our experience with materials develops and we are able to advise designers in search of alternatives, but also individuals in search of custom-made products.

A place for research

The research includes our applied experimental and artistic investigations.

Recognizing that the choice of materials and techniques is limited for self-production, we develop our own solutions. This approach is based on our scientific background as well as on the actions pursued by other studios and fab labs.

Furthermore, we examine ways of practicing an art that is aware of its environment and that questions without destroying.

Aller au contenu

Nous

Aurelie Ablay & Luc Randolph

Qui sommes-nous ?

Aurélie Ablay
Luc Randolph

Nous sommes profondément engagés pour le durable ; des engagements qui façonnent notre quotidien en dehors du studio. La Fabrique du Ciel Bleu est une extension de nos engagements et de nos compétences, à la fois scientifiques (Luc possède un doctorat en sciences des matériaux) et humaines. 

Nous faisons partie de ceux et celles qui remettent en question les frontières entre fabrication et design, entre industrie et artisanat pour y voir plutôt des lieux d’échanges et d’apprentissages.

ethos

La Fabrique du Ciel Bleu

Nous -Aurélie et Luc- fondons La Fabrique du Ciel Bleu en 2020 dans le but d’explorer les moyens de production (traditionnels et modernes) pour créer dans un monde en pleine transformation. Notre studio/atelier sert de plateforme pour explorer les combinaisons de techniques et de matériaux qui minimisent l’impact environnemental et mettent en valeur le travail de l’Homme.

Surtout, à l’heure où rationaliser l’emploi d’énergie(s) devient indispensable et où le juste choix de matériaux conditionne notre futur collectif, nous voulons proposer des alternatives concrètes et réfléchies, des idées matures et actionnables.

Un studio de design

La dimension studio de notre activité se focalise sur l’éco-conception, l’emploi de matériaux naturels ou renouvelables et leur combinaison dans des designs contemporains.

L’éco-conception est une vision complète de la vie d’une création qui nous demande de repenser la fabrication, les usages et surtout de prévoir la fin de vie (démontabilité, recyclage, ré-emploi). Dans l’optique de réintroduire plus de matériaux à faible empreinte, généralement naturels, notre conception doit aussi s’intéresser à l’entretien de ces matériaux qui « vivent », au contraire des synthétiques conventionnels.

Notre expertise est double : nous pouvons accompagner d’autres studios dans l’éco-conception, mais aussi concevoir des installations qui déploient matériaux naturels et techniques artisanales.

Un atelier de fabrication

La fabrication est menée en auto-production au sein de notre atelier principalement équipé d’outils manuels. Au fil du temps, nos designs prennent vie à la force du rabot et du ciseau ; le textile est noué et tissé sur des cadres en bois ; le plastique recyclé est taillé, découpé et assemblé.

Au gré des travaux, notre expérience des matières se développe et nous sommes à même de conseiller des designers en quête d’alternatives, mais aussi de particuliers en recherche de fabrication sur-mesure.

Un lieu de recherches

La recherche regroupe nos investigations expérimentales appliquée et artistique.

Reconnaissant que le choix de matériaux et techniques reste limité pour l’autoproduction, nous développons nos propres solutions. Cette démarche se repose sur notre passé scientifique comme sur les actions poursuivies par d’autres studios et fab lab.

Par ailleurs, nous examinons les manières de pratiquer un art conscient de son environnement et qui questionne sans détruire.